What Dreams May Come

What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up

like a raisin in the sun?

Or does it fester like a sore

and then run?

Does it stink like rotten meat?

Or crust and sugar over

like a sugary sweet?

Maybe it just sags

like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?

Langston Hughes

.We all have dreams…..but we as adults sometimes have to put our dreams to the side for the bigger picture of things that come with life or simply in lieu of more “important” things. I have had many dreams in my lifetime, some of them I forgot long ago as a child and some I have the pleasure of looking upon everyday. I am ashamed to admit that many times I have thought of leaving my dreams in the shadows and walking away and being satisfied with what I have achieved and wondering “what if”! But me being the me that I am, I just cannot do it.There was a time when I wanted nothing more than to be the host of a television show,( 106 & Park), I wanted to be Sheila E! , glow in the dark drum sticks and all. I also wanted to be a dancer for MC Hammer, then I changed my mind yet again and wanted to be an entertainment lawyer, and yet again a color commentator for the NBA. But like so many things that come and go we lose interest. But the common thread with my dreams are the arts. Music, media, talking, communications. As a child I performed, I wrote poetry, I played instruments, I danced, sang I did it all and yes I ran my mouth. I finally settled on one dream and became an On-Air personality in radio, and I loved it! But this is not the profession of a mother of three, that wants to tuck her children in at night noooo, this profession calls for long nights at the club, concerts and being ready to uproot your life because of a format change. I absolutely loved my profession but I love being at home when my children and husband needed me. I have struggled with dreams. I have often wondered what if I had not chose the life I have to lead the life I wanted as a child, but I remind myself that being an adult sometimes means sacrifice. Sacrifice…… a word many cannot fathom. Don’t mistake me, I am happy with the dreams that I have accomplished. I walk the road I have chosen with pride, my children are AP students, they are thoughtful, polite, respectful and conscious of the world around them. They are all adventurous and curious as children should be. My children and my husband know above all things that they are loved. Things have been hard for me at times and in the last few months have gotten harder, I almost died……. but I didn’t die, I lived and I am posting this because I lived and because I lived…. I have to “LIVE”,…… my dreams…….those achieved and those almost forgotten made me a survivor. Trust this I have never doubted myself or my ability, I am phenomenal and as I teach my children to never give up and be phenomenal I must lead by example….. it is not acceptable to just be a “SURVIVOR”……..I have to live my dreams……I am the arts and it is time to share my arts with you all…. Are you ready? I finally am!!!!!!!!FLOAT OR FALL. So while I am not dancing for MC Hammer or playing my drums with Sheila E, or even hosting 106 & Park. I have hosted my own radio show mainstream and web. I play the drums, and I dance daily with my kids on the WII and I express myself through my words and hand and I do all this being at home with my family, my greatest accomplishment. So we asks what happens to a dream deferred? Well let me tell you that it does not dry up like a raisin in the sun, it does not fester and die. It lives in your heart, walks in your soul, a dream dances on your tongue waiting on the song in your spirit, it plays in your mind. A dream lives, yes it lives forever …. a dream is immortal, but it is completely up to you to decide if your dream has “LIFE”!
Leave a Reply

